is this real life

Grown Folk is the brainchild of two up-and-coming Montreal electronic music producers, namely Kid Aloha, who we've blogged about before, and Roledex, a Saintwoods-backed house producer. The two have been DJing and producing together recently, and the result of this meeting of the minds has been dubbed Grown Folk. To quote Mr Aloha himself:

We started making tracks together 2 months ago, and finished up two of them which we sent out to a bunch of DJs. We got really early support from the likes of Melé, Ikonika, LOL Boys, Jacques Greene, Prince Club, Panton, and Chaos in the CBD. We've also signed a deal to make an EP in the spring of next year.

We are bearing witness to the birth of a new movement in electronic music. Of course, the UK is the birthplace of garage, dubstep, funky, and most of the futuristic sounds that are blowing up at the moment. Surprisingly, however, our very own Montreal is home to a ridiculous amount of innovative and progressive producers. From Hovatron to Jacques Greene to LOL Boys to Prince Club to Lunice, we've definitely got enough heavyweights in the game to make a serious dent in the ever-growing bass music scene. There must be something in the water here, as the general tendency for our producers (not to piegonhole, of course) seems to be leaning towards really cosmic, trippy harmonies and spacey melodies coupled with ungodly amounts of sub-bass. Might be the arctic temperatures in winter and the stifling humidity in summer that could be to blame.

Regardless, the reason I've posted about Grown Folk today is to expose another up-and-comer in the scene, and to introduce you to their first mix.

Grown Folk Collection N˚ 01 by Grown Folk

Straight from their soundcloud:

The Grown Folk Collection will be released at the beginning of every month. Simply put, its an hour long mix showcasing new tracks of ours, unreleased material from friends, and anything else we are into at the moment whether it be new or old. Spanning house, techno, disco, garage, funky, and hip-hop we aim to put together a collection of music that is diverse yet still cohesive and relevant.

1. Birdshell (6th Borough Project Shell Toe Remix) - Craig Bratley
2. Lost In You Like A (Chinese Cookie) - Guy Gerber
3. Purple Drank - Axel Boman
4. I Got One (You're It) (Mercury Remix) - Homework
5. California (Julio Bashmore Remix) - Claude Von Stroke
6. Fruit Boots - Prince Club
7. Your Words Matter - Ramadanman & Midland
8. Steady Moving - Grown Folk
9. (Baby I Don't Know) What You Want - Jacques Greene
10. Once In A While - Lone
11. Brighter Days (Underground Goodies Mix) - Cajmere Feat. Dajae
12. Allnighter - 24Hour Experience
13. Lonely Boy - Hot City
14. Perculator (Zombie Disco Squad Remix) - Cajmere
14. Bitter Sweet - Kink
15. Nikes On My Feet - Mac Miller

This mix is a perfect way to start off this excruciatingly cold winter of ours. Grown Folk's first Collection mix meshes together a great mélange of genres and sounds, and the result bends the space-time continuum and heats up any room it is played in. This is a glimpse into the future of electronic bass music by two forward-thinking producers who definitely love to push the envelope.

My own musical preference of late seems to be heading in the direction that Grown Folk is pushing, but personal taste aside, this is just a great mix of groovy and sexy "house" music. They only have one original production in the whole mix, but if the rest of the stuff sounds anything like Steady Movin, then I'm interested. Let's see what 2011 has in store for this promising duo. With an EP coming out on the recently renamed Templar Sound (formerly Buzzard Beats), these dudes are poised to take over.

Montreal, show some love.

Just in case you were not familiar with these two producers, I've included their solo work as well, just so you get an idea of where they're coming from.

Roledex- Azteca
Kid Aloha- Clique

Grown Folk
Kid Aloha

And, to round off the post, I present to you a 192kbps version of Jacques Greene's excursion into audio bliss, released on Night Slugs. (Baby I Don't Know) What You Want is the 2010 Hyph Mngo, in a way, which is high praise, in my opinion. Strangely, it's already one of my favorite tunes this year, and I predict this one'll be huge. Hats off to GDD for the link.

Jacques Greene- (Baby I Don't Know) What You Want

Jacques Greene

Have yourselves a pleasant afternoon.


1 comment:

  1. SO DOPE
    I LOVE Roladex and Kid Aloha, together is just madness